Launch day

The Future Is Like Pie #27

Today is the official launch of You Should Write a Book, coauthored by myself and Katel LeDû and published by A Book Apart. It’s here! It’s finally here!

I’ve already told you a bit about it, but this book is for anyone who wants to write a book but finds the process daunting, mysterious, or exclusionary. We want to shine a bright light on the publishing process, and to provide you with as much encouragement as we can, no matter your project or path (even if you’re outside the tech industry)!

If you’d like to support the book, you can:

  • buy it and share the link with others (and a HUGE thank you if you’ve already done so!)

  • post about it on your favorite social media channel(s)

  • interview us for your podcast or blog

  • invite us to speak at your (online) Meetup, class, book club, or conference

Now let’s celebrate launch day:

  • Join us (now!) in turntable.fm where we’ll be playing the best songs for writing all day. Hop in and contribute your faves, or just enjoy the chill beats while getting work done.

  • Come to our virtual launch party tonight at 8 pm eastern. We’ll be reading excerpts, doing some Q&A, and eating cake (bring your own cake).

  • I’ll be doing a giveaway over on Instagram: put together a picture with a dark-gray theme to match our cover, tag me and #youshouldwriteabook, and tell me why you want to read it. I’ll choose my favorite to win a free book this weekend!

We’ll also be coordinating some donations from book proceeds in the near future, so stay tuned!

Thank you so much for all your support. I know folks are a bit spread thin on good vibes right now, so I’m sending as much as I can back at you—we’re gonna do good things together.

<3