What needs to be seen

The Future Is Like Pie #37

O, Laughter, Grief sees
    itself as a knife, carving out what needs

to be seen. See yourself as an ice skater,
    the knives on your feet. Sometimes the pain

bursts out of me like a flock of starlings.
    My throat releases everything but you.

Cristin O’Keefe Aptowicz, “O Laughter”

Recently I noticed that my Instagram images have a little banner pasted under them, for my eyes only: “View insights.” If I click through, it shows me a dashboard of stats for both my “reach” and my “engagement.”

Listen. I’m not an influencer. I’m not a business. I’m not a company invested in make number go up. I’m just some lady who likes using personal photographs to stay connected to her friends on one of the few remaining social platforms on the internet.

But that’s on borrowed time. My feed is grossly overpopulated by the scant few “content creators” I follow (that is, people I don't know, mostly illustrators and meme accounts), utterly infested with ads, and interrupted by shrill pleas to look at Threads. Every dozen pics or so, I might see something posted by an actual human in my life; soon, we will all just be brands talking to brands in the overpriced subscription darkness.

I get it: friendship doesn’t turn profits. This is hardly a new complaint, or unique to Instagram (stares dead-eyed at Slack), or even remotely important in this permanently burning world. But also: Don’t tell me to view insights on a post about my dead mother. I do not care about my grief’s reach or my trauma’s engagement, and the product owners who have doubled- and tripled-down on optimizing our lives into content can go fuck themselves.

Well. Enough complaining. Let’s look at other folks’ smart writing.
 


First, a great little piece from Rebecca Solnit this week about the mind-bogglingly disproportionate effect billionaires have on the planet:

Billionaires are a menace to the rest of us: their sheer political size warps our public life. Disproportionately older, white and male, they function as unelected powers, a sort of freelance global aristocracy who are too often trying to reign over the rest of us. Some critics think that the supergiant tech corporations that have spawned so many modern billionaires operate in ways that resemble feudalism more than capitalism, and, certainly, plenty of billionaires operate like the lords of the Earth while campaigning to protect the economic inequality that made them so rich and makes so many others so poor. They use their power in arbitrary, reckless and often environmentally destructive ways.

I’ve been finding solace in Rabbi Danya Ruttenberg’s newsletter lately—the latest issue is a good intro to her “attempt[s] to disrupt binary narratives around Israel/Palestine”:

I remain convinced that the way home can always be found by following the people who have been working all along for the world we must have. Who refuse to demonize, as easy as it is to do. Who remain dogged in their commitment not only to the vision of another world, but to building it, now. Even when things seem hard and painful and hopeless. As they have for so long. We must look to those teaching truth and liberation now, and let them teach us the way. We must follow them.

I admit, I didn’t know the difference between restorative justice and transformative justice, but this well-written explainer (via Mariame Kaba) gave me plenty of clarity and insight:

In our experiences practicing, teaching, and building out projects connected to RJ and TJ, we frequently hear one of two things: that RJ and TJ are essentially the same thing, or that the two are incompatible — with TJ being seen as better and more just than RJ. It is our belief that both of these understandings are inaccurate, and do a disservice towards growing our collective efforts to challenge punishment, violence, and domination and to create just and meaningful pathways to safety and justice.

This Thomas Page McBee essay isn’t new, but it’s new to me, and says some truly beautiful things about masculinity, identity, and boxing (I miss my boxing days!):

Every day, I decide not to come out. In this boxing gym, in this world of men willing to be hit again and again in the face for hours and then hug, men speak openly and often about not being able to sleep the night before a fight, about their brother’s arrest or when they were fat in high school. Everybody has a story. Like mine, it’s rarely visible from the outside. For now, I prefer to guard my most tender parts, and to see them reflected back to me in the stray details of other men’s stories. To be myself, my new and old selves, without having to explain them: I see now, that is what I’m fighting for.

I used to write a lot of poems about Helen of Troy, so this essay about how we understand Helen’s agency in Homer’s depictions really hit home with me:

you may wonder why Helen’s fragmentation is even important enough that I’ve spent paragraphs upon paragraphs of this post on it. my answer would be to point to Barbie, yes, but also to the infinite list of the archetypes, expectations, interpretations, and censorships men have imposed on women over the course of history. it’s useless to pretend this doesn’t still happen - one only has to glance over to the Depp v Heard trial or the recent attempts made by Joe Jonas to frame Sophie Turner as a bad mother in the wake of their divorce.


Grab bag:


Finally: this past weekend was my birthday and my mama’s birthday. Perhaps you’d consider a donation to celebrate? Her cause of choice was always Bread for the City, an excellent nonprofit in DC. Mine is your local mutual aid org, or my local mutual aid org, or World Central Kitchen, which is doing great work right now, as always.

Give someone a hug for me, y’all.

<3